Returning with Turmoil

in #poetry6 years ago

Nice to be back. It has been a long time since my last post which I believe had to do with my second book of poetry titled: Turmoil. Turmoil covers a variety of topics many written during some difficult times. My father's struggle with Alzheimer's, my terrible ongoing battles with depression (which led to a hospital stay) and even one unfortunate incident with law enforcement. In the midst of this, my father passed away two years ago on October 4 2016. Before that my therapist Mike Rein suddenly passed away in his sleep of a reported heart attack. I was on my way to our session when I received the call not to come in for the session was canceled. Late I received the call from his supervisor informing me of the sudden death.

It has been a difficult time. I have an autistic son who I can happily say has been learning in the special six to one class he attends. So in the process of so much difficulty, I have worked on pushing aside some of the shadows that have darkened so many of my words. Not that I'm ashamed of what I've written. Turmoil is part of who I am just like Shadowed Tears was. Yes, some readers have been bugged by what they call my sad words. My depressive writing. I can only ask these readers to try and understand. I am not trying to spread sadness. Nor am I trying to spread my depression to others. I am a writer who uses my words for expression. I am not only expressing what I'm feeling but what many are feeling. People who are afraid to express such feelings, people who feel unrepresented in the arts whether that's writing, drawing, music or whatever it is. I understand that depression and sadness can be well depressing. But this does exist and those who experience it should be able to find empathy. There is empathy on both sides happiness and sadness.

Does this mean I plan to write only sad poems? Of course not. Turmoil doesn't only cover sad poems. I suppose its fair to point out that poems can mean different things to different people. I hope I can interest poetry fans to read my book. I joined Steemit before in my hopes of connecting with other people which can include fellow poets, writers, novelists and of course readers of all genres. The book is currently on Amazon and I have shared the link from publisher Creative Talent Unleashed right below. Here's hoping to connect with anyone interested (or not interested in poetry) Thank you very much.

https://www.ctupublishinggroup.com/a.m.-torres-.html

Turmoil 51KWHvq11gL.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65678.25
ETH 2669.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88