The Last Call (Spoken Poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

This was originally a song I turned into a poem. Enjoy and let me know what you think!
Kevin Macleod is the creator of the wonderful piece you hear in the background called Shamanistic.

Words are mine as well as the fire. I borrowed the background image from pixabay. Creative Commons used :)


I'm walking in line
Following the sound of the drum
All around me they're blind
They don't realize this world is coming undone.
They say they're fine
But there's an aching in their soul
Needing something more
Than this blazing sun that's bleaching their core.

It's the last call
The closing of the curtain
It's the last straw before the
Camel breaks
And I'm standing in front of a pool of darkness.
I don't know how deep
Do I toss my thoughts (of the world) away,
And Take this final leap?

I'm balancing on a fine line
Between life and death
Destruction and peace
These voices will not cease
They're driving me out of my mind
As the world comes undone
But I'm fine
If I drown in the sound of the drum

... And i don't know what this world wants from me
All i know is that I just want to be free...


Amethyst Midnight

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44