Cosmic Wanderer (Grounded)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I am not of this Earth
Yet I have been here for so long.
Brown is the dirt under my nails
From digging deeper than I ever intended.
Now I have forgotten my way
Stumbling into the next light of Day
Always searching for a way back home
Thinking it was here
But I know it can’t be true.
I have lost connection
With the Great Outer World
And have become possessed
By these Earthly possessions.
Oh Fool...didn’t you know
You’d wander endlessly?
But what is it that I came here for?
I have forgotten under these
Centuries of sand in my ears.

IMG_20180921_115543.jpg

Image source

Amethyst Midnight

Sort:  

Well penned. These words, especially speak to us all:

…possessed
By these Earthly possessions.

I thank you! These words made me really stop and think after I wrote them.

I thank you! These words
Made me really stop and think
After I wrote them.

                 - amethystmidnight


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Either you run the day or the day runs you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50