An Offering to the Dark

in #poetry6 years ago


candle-1868640_640.jpg

I felt it as a child
Yet I never knew what it was.
Such a familiar presence
Of dread. So content
That I fell into a world of apathy.
A void in which I called friend,
I fed it my misery.
A misery that, even to this day,
Has never had a known source...

Such existential questions
We ponder
That I thought would vanish
But here in the present I sit
With a new awareness
Feeling you draw closer
But this time asking why?
What is it you want?
Are you hurt?
Have you wandered too far from home?
And now you seek shelter in my vessel?

Oh watchful Darkness,
I shall call you friend
Even when the world runs in fear.
I accept your moments of despair
Of ache
For it is the path we must take
For humanity.
To be human.
No longer a sacrifice
But an offering to save the Light.


IMG_20180729_134019.jpg

Cloudless visions
Yet smoke in my eyes.
Questions filling up the chalice
Answers running dry.
I'm pouring out my cadence
My soul beats like a drum.
Do I embrace it?
Or should I run?
A dance within time
Always trying to break free.
Why do you taunt me
Only to throw away the key?
To dance without worry
What a life that would be
Yet there remains a fight
For my soul's decree

Amethyst Midnight

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56