Middle of the Night (Original Poem)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

In the middle of the night
I sit and write by the lamplight
My dog napping on the chair beside me
I feel the chill of the air conditioned air
The soft neck-tickle of my hair
And the pull of sleep to the nth degree
While entranced by the computer screen
I struggle to obey the inevitable urging
From my humaness calling for sleeping

In the middle of the night
Still, I write until the morning light
When the sun peaks over the horizon
My eyelids bobbing like a beacon
Beckoning the dreams that await
Behind them in the dream state
Following their lead I finally heed
Welcoming the sleep that I need
My dog sleeping beside me

By: Amarie


Image Source

#onehumanbasket


Get some sleep! It's healthy. -- As always, thanks for visiting my blog! You are appreciated. smilefemale.jpg


Sort:  

Nice poetry...👌👌
Upvoted.

Thank you very much!

Great poem @amarie. Thanks for sharing your talent with us. 🤓

You bet!! Youve been featured in my top picks by the way!!! End of Week Top 15

Hey cool! Thanks a lot. I appreciate that.

Nice poem, simple and something many of us can relate to :)

I appreciate you reading it. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43