The Woman Walking Down The Street

in #poetry6 years ago

There she goes walking down the street. 

Every time our eyes cross, she smiles back at me. 

Written down on paper when i'll see her again.  

Thinking of ways to approach her the next day while i'm in bed.  



But the nerves are to blame. 

From me telling her my name.  

The aftertaste leaves a bitter breath. 

Which makes others want to get away.


 

Why do I continue to be afraid? 

Have I lost that fire, have I lost that hunger?  

It's like I sink every time I hit the water.  

I'm stuck in a cycle I cannot escape.  

No matter the path I choose darkness is my fate  

Because i'm a slave bound by chains  

And everyday I contemplate, whether to fight or whether to escape. 

Do you know what it’s like to be the ice that always melts and the fire without a flame?  

-

So there she goes a month later walking down the street  

But this time with another guy who was more courageous than me 

As they kiss goodbye I begin to cry  

Because that could've been me if I would have just broken the ice 

But darkness is my fate 

Bound by chains so I cannot escape 

Only when I break free can I possibly create. 

An everlasting bond, that’ll definitely be great. 



Sort:  

You got a 0.60% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @alvorek! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66131.28
ETH 3598.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46