As you are - Nayyirah Waheed

in #poetry7 years ago

A friend shared this poem with me recently, and I thought it was so beautiful. Coming from a Christian home, a poem like this would usually read "says God" or something; but since one of my worst tendencies is to feel inadequate next to all the other people, this message coming from the universe at large is powerful for me. It's like all the people I imagine to be looking down on me for not being as good as they are have suddenly told me I'm their equal. And I don't have to do anything except keep living my mediocre life! Whoa.

‘as you are.’ says the universe.
'after…’ you answer.
'as you are.’ says the universe.
'before…’ you answer.
'as you are.’ says the universe.
'when…’ you answer.
'as you are.’ says the universe.
'how…’ you answer.
'as you are.’ says the universe.
'why…’ you answer.
'because
you are happening now.
right now.
right at this moment
and
your happening
is beautiful.
the thing that keeps me alive
and
brings me to my knees.
you don’t even know how breathtaking you
are.
as you are.’ says the universe through tears

Nayyirah Waheed in “as you are | you are the prayer” in Nejma

FB_IMG_1498787660808.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87