Our love and the ruins

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


Today I'll be posting my first writing here on Steemit. It's not necessarily a poem, I consider them to be more like short stories that I sometimes write as poems. They might not rhyme, yet that is not the point of me writing them.

And we ruined each other,
But I'm sure we would have made a marvelous ruin,
Among all the others people admire.

And why do they admire ruins, after all
Why if not for how they remind us
Even in their decayed state
So magnificent,
They mean so much by mere existence

A ruin was then our love
A ruin has now become my heart
A ruin of a love once lost
A ruin of what mattered most

1.jpg

Story behind the words:

I have written this thinking of a lover I lost a while ago and the way we destroyed each other. Thinking of how a love so magnificent can end up leaving both parties in ruin, sometimes beyond repair. Thinking of the scars we left on each other, of the way it still hurts at times when I think of her.

Thank you for reading.
In order to see more of what I write every day, follow me

As always, have a great day,
Alex

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55