I know, my angel, I know

in #poetry6 years ago

You were what I would call angelic, you were the one I saw most perfect. Where are you now, dear goddess, the one I lost but once? You, bound to live forever yet die away from me. You'll be the love of many and you'll embrace a few, they'll marvel at your beauty yet never see what I did. They shall never see what lies deep down, hidden within the fabric of your wings.

I still remember you like it was yesterday, our hands still holding tight, our eyes still staring at the moon. The same moon we now see from far away, the moon that called us children. Oh, damn, my dear, what have we now become? How could we lose a love so perfect like the one we shared? How could we be so bold as to defy the gods, the ones creating us as one?

I reminisce the crushing moment of departing. I reminisce the pain of our goodbye, it was the day I died. I died inside and I have yet to live, for I couldn't find another to breathe life into me. I couldn't find another you, yet I shall search forever.

A ruin we became, I know, for people to behold and marvel. A ruin too alone inside, a guardian of our truth. A truth so powerful they couldn't understand, one never meant to be told. A ruin of a beauty they couldn’t recreate, yet they shall look for ages, for the way our souls danced.

You were the one to split my world into before and after. The one to change the game, the angel walking on this earth I got to meet and love. And lose and break, you and myself, in pieces, millions. Those pieces hold such pain no words could ever speak, yet here I write day after day. You are still here, living in between this lines, as you shall be forever.

I know, too little and too late, my angel. I know we had our chance, I know our time has passed. Yet I'm still here, still breathing, your name is written on my lips, your face burned on my eyes.

surrender-woman.jpg

Story behind the words:

I wrote this reminiscing moments of a past long gone. I wrote it thinking of the one I saw perfect, the one I had imagined living a whole life with. I wrote it knowing even gone, she will forever remain a memory I shall hold dear, close to the heart.
The way I shall remember her as happiness, her face as angelic and her voice as magic. The way sometimes I will still be hers.

Thank you for reading.
In order to see more of what I write every day, follow me

As always, have a great day,
Alex

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alexwrote from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64561.21
ETH 3418.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57