my deprivation

in #poetry5 years ago

Pensively he reflected

The span of happiness has come to an end,

Ever since gray shafts beamed in my hair

Love’s river has let me down!

Sadly, I returned from its banks;

My thirst unquenched

I am unable to sail its waters;

My boat has lost its compass,

The shores are far and out of sight

I love you, dear girl, in spite of my deprivation.

My heart never so fondly throbbed for another

I spend my days choked by my own intense longings

Spare me the agony of recalling to memory

What to the past belongs

Your feverish reprove has oppressed my heart,

Already miserable by prolonged pain

Your innocence is like that of a little girl’s

Whose dreams are by sadness unmarred

Help bring back to me my lost tranquility,

And be gentle with my heart when alone we meet

 --------------------------------

  Photo Source  


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56298.58
ETH 2463.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32