the devil's nightmare

in #poetry6 years ago

Hi all, still sick, but still determined to put some more posts here on Steemit. Haven't had much time to read and comment on others' posts, as work has unexpectedly picked up these past two weeks, but I'll see what I can do.

I guess my last post wasn't really anyone's cup of tea, so here I am back to posting old (and translated into English!) poems of half a lifetime ago.

This one I actually remember what it was about, and I'll say that it's relevant to my current condition

Source


The Devil’s nightmare

I know of this thing
that breaks all nighttime serenades;
that smites all cornerstones right in the axis of symmetry

This thing is something paper does not hold
even though it is related to air

It’s something that even specters may fear
or have feared once

As it comes when night starts flowing
from the slopes of the cherry orchards
like a nightmare astray

You likely won’t suffer the way Odysseus did
and the zone of truth will become you
just as shadows become riders and horses

We’re all in this together
one of us against countless of them,
all those particles of a nightmare astray

Like leaves plotting together in a canopy
like songs both sung and lost
like the sun setting over the slopes of the cherry orchards

This thing as well will come only to go away

06 AUG 2001


so, do tell me what you think! or not.

RELATED POSTS: Literally anyone

Sort:  

Congratulations @akiofthemitovski! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This poem seems to present the struggle between darkness and light. There is a certain epic undertone to it and yet it also retains a degree of the whimsical.

Following several read-throughs I have not been able to turn out a comment eloquent enough to do it justice - and so this one will have to do. ^_~

Nicely done.

Thanks for the comment, @pathforger, regardless of its length!

I'm glad you've noticed the struggle between darkness and light, and I sure didn't think it was a whimsical poem, but if you think so - I'll take it!

Have an awesome day, and keep reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.12
ETH 3727.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65