THE STING OF WAR

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

image
image
Below the sand were scorpions who stung my brothers to death.,
Above were ugly bald birds
Going in circles in search for the falling ones,
Mocking our every steps, waiting to dine again,
I watch my brothers beg at the mercy of these birds as they pick up their flesh,
Only if a single bullet was meant for these bald creatures.
But Still in our lines we stand
Marching through the unending desert
Holding fast the strength that never existed.
"we all gonna die here" said a falling one
And the birds were quick to devour him.
He could make no scream, he wanted death, he had it

"Halt! halt! halt!
Beyond this sand mountains are thorns of war
Stir your heart and stir to roar
Clip to your weapons or cling on the cross
Its our destiny to fight, its our course...
Charge!!! "
The well fed armoured man said
And a roar went out
My vintage dressed comrades ran into the battle like the very scorpions we were weary of
Like the bald birds they soar
hungry for blood spill,
Only to be devoured like the carcass before them
Crawling in halves
Screaming aloud
I couldn't bear the pain
I once again prefer to be eaten by my bald friends and scorpions
I died too..
I did not survive..
And if you found this note in one piece
Then its true
The pen is mightier than the sword
image image

TOGETHER WE ARE STRONGER!!! UNITED WE STAND!!! #poetsunited (use it to be included in Daily Dose Poetry and Prose)
SO COME STEEMIT POETS UNITE : Join us on our new Discord Server Click Here

Sort:  

This was quite a good poem. Love the use of the bald eagles eating the carcasses. If I may suggest one thing, you do not need to put pictures within your poetry. Preferably, only as a header or footer, so it does not distract the flow. Your poetry is good enough that my mind is able to imagine the scene, without needing pictures ;)

smiles
Thank you sir
Suggestion noted
Am a lover of your poems

It's my pleasure :) Glad you like my poems. I'm no special poet, we are all equal ;)

All I can say to you is welcome.

Awesome Poem My Friend. I am glad that you have joined the Community. God Bless You. Peace and Love. Check out the Daily Dose laterz :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88