A POEM (COULDN'T GIVE A NAME)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

image
With pocket full of dreams
And a rusty hand of brass
I wanted a life of gold
A consolation for my predicament
An evidence of hard labour

Little did I know life is a rent
I got what I could afford
A sentence to the cozy swine
Moist with splendor and dungs
And a deteriorating hand of shame

Poverty bulked around my neck like a tie
As I settle for more dirt than crumbles
I could still afford my dreams
The only thing sweeter than dirt

Homeless not hopeless was a poem I read
Education isn't gold after all
All it gave was hope
One I couldn't reconcile with...

image

Sort:  

This Post Has Been Included In The Daily Dose of Poetry and Prose #32 . Also You got an upgoat worth roughly 0.27$ in post rewards. Enjoy.

Wow.. I am glad to hear that. Thanks

Really nice piece man. Thank you for joining Steemit Poets United Community. God Bless You Peace and Love.

Some of the imagery you included in this piece @akinboyewa was quite striking, i.e.:

And a deteriorating hand of shame

and,

Poverty bulked around my neck like a tie

I always struggle with the fact that we live in a time in history where we, as humans, have put a cost to life, a cost to food, a cost to home. Such a horrible fate to condemn many to who have no way of escaping.

Yes, a thoughtful poem here with a message, good sir, thank you for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45