A Twist a Sonnet

in #poetry7 years ago

A sonnet is basically a poem of 14 lines written in iambic pentameter. There are two types of sonnets; shakespearean (154) or English and italian sonnets. An English Sonnet Consists of 3 quatrains and a couplet while an Italian sonnet consists of an octave and a sestet. Here is an English Sonnet I wrote for @chrisroberts's 'write me a sonnet contest'

☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
black-630558__480.png
Source

Cupid love is a stupid shove that comes
Pervading your heart with pervasive ease
Like many a turbulent raging storms
Moving with fury across deep blue seas

The worst mistake is getting bold enough
to confess the silly feelings you hold
Plunging you into the stronghold of love
A place so dark and also all so cold

So lonely as it unfolds with anguish
And hearts sold to lies and flimsy decieits
In the abyss of love the hearts may languish
Yet too blind to the truth they never face it

Love is sad and blind and not glad and kind.
Love is the Pandora's box bastards find.


Sonnets are traditionally love poems but I've witten this one as an anti-love poem. I just twisted a sonnet.

With love,
@ajremy (the teen with steam for steem).

Sort:  

Well done! I really enjoyed it, especially the last two lines. This will be a tough one to beat, although I'm getting some good entries.

The couplets of a Shakespearean sonnet has to be the best part, I'm told... it has to ring something unforgettable. It's like signing out.

So long as men can breathe and eyes can see,

Long lives this and this gives life to thee.- William Shakespeare (Shall I Compare Thee to a Summer's day).

I loved the language of this piece and the way you hit us up with the internal rhyme on the very first line. Great write.

Thanks. I hope you noticed the pun too.

a place so dark and also all so cold

Poetry is beautiful, Isn't it??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59