Uprooted (An Original Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago


Omniscient love;
I guess you will never leave me
Implanted in the unworthy soul as roots of an oak
Yet not meant to be
Ripped out and tossed aside as unwanted mulch
Truth owed vs. Truth kept
No effort to amend vs. the talent to pretend
Hair ripping heart wrenching tears wept
Pillows soaked
Tears bled
Conscience provoked

The raw ether that pervades these words
Poured without mixture
Served without flavor
Incapable of being eloquently expressed
Better left uncovered and repressed
Feelings to vague
To appropriate a name
As God assigns the unwanted avenger

No questions posed
But how long has it been?...5 years too soon
Why would tears course down his emotionless face?
Disgrace
And she tells the truth when she says a poet pents up inside
And with his words try to bury and hide
The emotions that could liberate his soul
Until he bursts
Prophetic words

She's right so I'll stop
For my constant equivocation
And confusing rumination
Ceases to provide the wanted justification
Leaving me helpless against
Misdirected and fierce condemnation

Theres a right and a wrong
But which is truth?
How unconvincingly long
Though it is what its worth
Purity? Chastity? Fidelity?
Imposters coating our falsely innocent existence

But they that hold my hands
Love me and believe me
Scold and chastise me
Console me and embrace me
Advised me and warned me
Help to replant me.
Othello...I promised to never be like you
But it turns out you were exactly like me

Anston

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48