'They Hold On' (a Freewrite Poetry Response)

in #poetry4 years ago

I used to respond to freewrite prompts here on Steemit on a regular basis, but around a year ago, I found myself spending less and less time on this platform, as I became busy with other things ... so the habit died out. Today, though, I felt drawn to come back. I would like my writing to flow more freely, and I remembered that the freewrite prompts were once extremely effective at helping me to do that. ❤️ This is a response to @mariannewest's latest freewrite prompt post. Presented with a long list of words and images to choose from, I picked this amazing picture by @marinaart:

'They Hold On'

They are an eye
Glimpsed through twitching curtains
Grasping for a freedom
They have never found.

They are words you may remember
As a force that held you back:
That called you limited
And said, ‘no further can you go
Than the wall of your own fears.’

Now your wings unfurl
Yet they hold on
For anxiety beats them back
From the path of greater truth
Greater healing
Greater hope:

A path that awaits them
If they could only see
Under the rigid weight of their own rules
They fail to fly.


The flower image is my own photograph. 🙂

Sort:  

good to see you!!

It's been a while! 😊❤️

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

It is so good to have some brilliant poets like you back. Coming to Hive? 🧡

Hi @tezmel! I might do. I have yet to sit down and figure out the logistics of transferring my details, creating my account, and everything else Hive-related.😝

Please do. You don't have to figure anything out... just login with Steemit details and you will be a part of the hive. The rewards are better. The community is more active there. And you can still post here as you figure it out 🙂

Come over... 🧡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43