Walls - An Original Poem

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Walls
A life that is well lived
Can be all fun and games
Unless of course
You’re a frenzied insane
Manic screams
Depressive thoughts
It’s a wonder how more souls haven’t got lost
Alone in a cell
Without windows or doors
The deranged sing a song
And they have no remorse
As we’re sent back in time
To a primitive day
There’s no way to leave
Looks like we’ll all stay
Hush us all up
With pills, pokes, and prods
Except the crazed are a people
And we have a cause

-Photo was taken by me while exploring the abandoned ruins of a hospital-

Sort:  

Abandoned places are interesting to explore for sure. My dad spent many years in different mental hospitals from being manic-depressive and he said he really enjoyed his time there... Interesting how we have unique points of view.

I major hobby of mine is urban exploration. This trip to the hospital was amazing! I actually took a bunch of videos. I'm in the process of piecing them together to make a dtube video about it.
I've always found an odd fondness for the mental institutions of our past. I'm actually a healthcare worker by trade. I specialize in the care of people with mental health issues mainly Alzheimers and dementia, but I've seen them all. The people I've gotten to meet have changed my life forever! I'm sure your father is an amazing man!

OH so excited to see your urban exploration video on dtube I went through a phase of watching hundreds of videos on urban exploration it is amazing how much stuff falls by the way side when the interest and money stops flowing to it. And yes my dad is an amazing person I think some people get locked up in places because they are far outside the bell curve of normal....

Congratulations @aisforannabel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love everything about this post <3

This was one of my favorites growing up

Resumé
BY DOROTHY PARKER
Razors pain you;
Rivers are damp;
Acids stain you;
And drugs cause cramp.
Guns aren’t lawful;
Nooses give;
Gas smells awful;
You might as well live.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41