Only You

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

If I give you what I gave her,
and let go of all she gave me.
We might build something beautiful...
Farewell gravity.
Begin climbing new peaks,
call it stairwell sanity.
May our love bring a new peace,
haters can all abandon me.
To you lovers understanding ~dp~...
Feel me with this poetry.
Look your lover in the eye
and let them know they are your centerpiece.
Your love's my only remedy...
So if I fall remember me.
I'm your soldier,
your rider,
forever.
Only you.

~dp~

Sort:  

not sure if the 'dp' is someone's initials, if so, then the poem holds a personal significance unknown to the general reader, which is the problem with personal disclosures...especially since the lines narrow down to one thing--'dp'

Try reading this piece to your lover... or another human being. When you've done that read it as if you stood in a mirror and read it to yourself. The duality was hidden because it's based on a relationship that is considered to be one. A marriage (or the belief system about lovers )And yes, ~dp~ is a digital signature. It's been alluded to in the line ..."To you lovers understanding ~dp~..." It takes two individuals to make the relationship of marriage a complete... whole. Both parties of the relationship should have a fair amount of responsibility to understanding the premise love.
A biblical scripture says "Love your neighbor as you love yourself " which means to me that if you can't love yourself, your ability to love another is severely debilitated— the reverse would hold true as well. I hope that offers a bit of clarity about the piece. It was very personal when I wrote it. It does the realm of love no good trapped in the pages of a notebook though. I thank you humbly for reading. I did edit and separate the signature from the piece, to make it a bit less cryptic though. ~dp~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65170.83
ETH 2568.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66