# CONDEMNED [DAY 56]

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

people-homeless-man-male.jpg

Image

CONDEMNED

ORIGINAL POETRY BY

Lately things haven't been going my way
Please give me a sign that everything will be may
Life is getting me down, no doubt about that
Evil is lurking around, kinda like a rat

Please don't remind me of my failures
I know they are all true
I wish I could start over again
A slate that is brand new

Please bring back my happiness
That I used to love so much
And while you are at it

Bring back caring eyes and a warming touch
Bring me back the things that make me smile
Maybe then, I could stand life for a little while
My friends who mean everything
Seem to be slipping away

They don't understand that I need them
And how bad I want them to stay
Please give me hope
That might get me through the day

For if someone asks how I'm doing
I have nothing good to say
One thing after another
Just seem to keep going wrong

I know I'm being bothersome
But hopefully not for long
For I know fully now
That I'm condemned.

people-homeless-male-street.jpg

Image

Notes

This is entry for day 56 of a 100 days of poetry challenge organized by @d-pend in association with the steemit school which you can join here;

https://discordapp.com/invite/hyfYQ9P

Love @adebayopaul

Sort:  

Heavy words.

I have spoken with many who are living the reality of these words. They live on the edge of the lunatic fringe of abandon. Society seems to prefer that those without wealth vanish.

People who are poor are the new untouchables in the USA. Poverty means a lower life expectancy. Being poor in the USA means a lesser education. Poverty means homelessness. Poverty means crime.

Thanks for this poem, raising awareness of those condemned by their circumstance is important work.

Yeah, I actually spoke to a man earlier today, which is my main reason for writing this post. He said a lot of things that found their way into my heart about being oppressed. I just hope they get help.

Often social isolation is a huge problem for the homeless.

Even saying "hello" to someone in poverty can uplift them.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Hello friend @adebayopaul, fulfilling the requirement of the Challenge, step to try to interpret the poem.

The poetic voice poses a depressive phase in which he feels the abandonment of everything that is important to him. The whole poem is a call to attention, a plea for love and interest for oneself. He feels "condemned", as the title suggests, due to the bad situation in which he has fallen, but far from finding answers, he tells us that everyone turns his back on him.
Seen, stanza by stanza, the fall is described and it is seen as the "bad". These lines reflect it :

Evil lurks like a rat.

In the second verse, ask for a new opportunity to begin:> I wish I could start over. A slate that is completely new.
The third stanza reveals his true intention, the return to his known life, to the good and happy yesterday:

Please return my happiness

The claim occurs in the fourth stanza, the evidence of the disaster turned into abandonment:

My friends who say everything. It seems that he is escaping.

The fifth and the sixth stanza, slide the same idea, but the word hope, only that it refers to a good that depends on others, the same that has been submerged in the existential chaos that is to live.
The full awareness of chaos and despair
It expands in the last verse where it warns that there is no way and is only a nuisance for others who do not understand their level of depression, to the point of preventing there is no way out of their situation:

I know I'm upset, but I hope not for a long time,

The admission of total defeat, with the only hope that it will not be long.

Most of what you said are true but the last verse was actually a last ditch effort to redeem the abandoned soul. Why not make your final conclusion in the part 2 of the poetrt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70