BLOODY SUNSET [DAY 27]

in #poetry6 years ago

amazing-animal-beautiful-beautifull.jpg
source

POETRY

Marveling at the vastness of the open field,
With the wind in my hair,
And my body aching from being strong willed,
Even when I was a liar,

Regretting old mistakes,
That chiselled me,
Tried to burn the stakes
That could desiccate me,

Train of thoughts of battle fought,
Many won and a few lost.
Of the victory bouquets got
But the brickbats had me frost.

A memorable morning,
A wasted afternoon.
Now in the twilight of my life ring,
All coming so soon.

After life's long tiring quest,
I thought I could sit and rest,
With old friends and jest.

But all I can do best
Is to puff up my chest
Correct all the mistakes I made first
Clean out the hornet's nest
But if there is no zest
There is sure to be a bloody sunset.

pexels-photo.jpg
image source

Reader's Note

This is my entry for day 27 of a 100 days of poetry challenge organized by @d-pend, supported by the steemit school, which you can join here;

https://discordapp.com/invite/hyfYQ9P

This poetry was inspired by the words of a old man I saw yesterday, regretting not putting all he had when he had the ability to do it.

  • I am a beginner.

pexels-photo-962290.jpeg
Image

By @adebayopaul

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68118.27
ETH 3793.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46