Poetry 365 | Day 357-365 | Ouroboros

in #poetry4 years ago

crocodile-2434838__480.jpg
pixabay

Ouroboros

1-

A dream of lightning
Sparking up my brain
Popping in my sleep
Jumping up my spine
A jolt, a jolt
Spinning through time
(Out of time)
Rewinding
Rewind, rewind.

--Stephen Martin, 12/23/19

2-

Apocalyptic
Framework
Doorstep
Waiting
Sponsored
By
Justice
&
Rebirth

Seaborne
Banquet
Blanket
Spread
Upon
Torn
Ligaments
Of
The
Universal
Truths

Reckoning
Jabberwocky
With
Alice
&
Woodstock
Peace
Love
Attitude
Bustling
About
Waistlines

Banks
Prisons
Schools
Books
Borders
Bunions
Sores
Eyes
Mouths
Make
Themselves
Known

--Stephen Martin, 12/24/19

3-

The pigeons flattened the grass
With their black and white speckled selves
Unlimited in their profundity
Burped from the earth and the sea
To carpet the lawn of my mind.

And yet, their silent decay
Boils my unconscious
Violently.

Each small bird
Squacks from the past
Dead like words lost in boring mop water
Placid like a forgotten bowl of Cheerios
In the middle of a porcelain sink.

I look beyond their glaze
To the distance
And wonder if they also carpet the desert.

--Stephen Martin, 12/25/19

4-

In each grey moment
There sits a timepiece
A pocket watch of questions
Never asked...but if

Modern women
Understood the chemical
Warfare
Inflicted
On their infants
&
The men they chose
To procreate
With

Then maybe we would insist on

Defluoridation.

--Stephen Martin, 12/26/19

5-

Night! Oh night
You are my friend
My true companion
My always expanding self.

Meet me in Colorado
We can ease our days
With green Columbine
With a sad, sad face
With a mime
With a joker
With a dark underbelly
Of American afterbirth.

Oh night
My golden map
My extended dream
My jello wave into the vastness
Become my second womb
My never tomb
My rebirthing whirlpool
Oh night!

Night! Oh night
You are my jealous lover
Bent on destruction
Of all that keeps you from me
Day, love, sanity
You swallow it all
With your dark black eyes.

--Stephen Martin, 12/27/19

6-

The dragons are out there
In the stars
From which we came
We are their kin:
Reptilian dreams
As they slumber
In the aeonic tock
Of Saturn's sickled clock.

They stretch their sleek necks
Into our nightmares
But they are only ourselves
Looking back at us
With obsidian pupils
In a maze of yellow paned glass

Cheifly among them reside
Our souls
Our copper plated shields
Our bronze sword hilts
Our silver forks;

And then
Their wide mouths open
To consume each new year.

--Stephen Martin, 12/28/19

7-

When I think of my lover
I weep

I think of imperfection
Of lacking sleep

Of dotted i's
And crossed t's

Of cigarettes
And spoiled dreams

When I think of my lover
I wretch

Before a broken alter
I sink

I know that I am lacking
And my lover bears the fruit

When I think of my lover
I die

I grieve our salty kisses
I void our made up bliss
I only see two misfits
Two misfits in a twist
Two misfits bound to miss

--Stephen Martin, 12/29/19

8-

Hyperion
Does your sky grow smaller
When you launch your missiles?

Overthrowing & overthrown
In a sweeping breath

Will your father remember
Your treachery
Your need for power
Your lust for the sky realm
Underscoring your Titan appetite?

Would it all work the same no matter
If matter were a sheet
Of memory?

Or would your stilled projection
Cause some kind of new catastrophe

Hyperion
Are you awake?

--Stephen Martin, 12/30/19

9-

The gap in the ouroboros
Where the end begins
Again
Is a thinning that winter
Speaks
To the brittle air
Between each exhalation
And each new year.

--Stephen Martin, 12/31/19

To streamline this challenge I will be linking to day one for the details. This is a cross promotion of the Steemit and Cent platforms. Visit me on Steemit. Visit me on Cent.

Day 1

In a nutshell, post your poetry below for consideration in my monthly, online, blockchain, poetry journal.

What's your 365?

Sort:  

Congratulations on your 365 days of poetry posts, what a milestone, very impressive. I worked on a post a day last year in my first year on steemit but wasn't always successful every day. However some day I wrote multiple posts so it evened out. Best wishes for 2020 and another 365.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16