Poetry 365 | Day 356 | White Privilege

in #poetry4 years ago

dog-1634557__480.jpg
pixabay

Some people think that white guys are the devil
Well my horns are coming out today
The color of my skin, will not make me keep it in
I'm gonna say what I've got to say.

There is no such thing as white privilege
We all are born with a different set of shoes
But if you look real close
What sticks out the most
Is that we all have a lot to lose.

We've been given a gift
Every single one of us
Is unique and on a different path
When we speak in generalities
About our family trees
We miss that they all line up somewhere in the past.

It's a fact that we all are God's children
We were created with the same amount of love
So stop with all the grief
And reach your hand to me
Together we will rise above.

We've been given a gift
Every single one of us
Is unique and on a different path
When we speak in generalities
About our family trees
We miss that they all line up somewhere in the past.

Red and yellow, black and white it makes no difference
We've got to drop this childish squabbling
If we get on the same page
We can enter a new age
Where the value of our lives are not driven by decree.

We've been given a gift
Every single one of us
Is unique and on a different path
When we speak in generalities
About our family trees
We miss that they all line up somewhere in the past.

There is no such thing as white privilege
But I'm privileged to enjoy your company
This skin stuff is a joke
It's all mirrors and smoke
To keep us at each other's throats.

So take your gift
And join with me
We can destroy all this fallacy
Take my hand
Let's make a stand
And come together in the truth
Of what we need
Cause lies keep us divided
And divided we will fall
Together we can change the reality of all.

So as you see I am not the devil
I want to live in harmony
Let's shirk the narrative
Take back our lives and live
As brothers and sisters in one big family.

--Stephen Martin, 12/22/19

To streamline this challenge I will be linking to day one for the details. This is a cross promotion of the Steemit and Cent platforms. Visit me on Steemit. Visit me on Cent.

Day 1

In a nutshell, post your poetry below for consideration in my monthly, online, blockchain, poetry journal.

What's your 365?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62