Poetry 365 | Day 339 | If I Could

in #poetry5 years ago

fashion-1284496__480.webp
pixabay

When I was a younger man
I didn't know what I was in for
I thought I could let the cards fall where they may.
But now I'm an older man
And I know the ways of women
If you don't watch out they'll exploit naivete.
But I still love em and I can't cuss em
I just have to be more careful where I lay.
Yeah I still chase em, can't erase em
But if I could I'd be much better off that way.

It's not their fault I walk into their traps
Or fall into their arms so easily
And if I could, I'd wait for a good one
But the good ones don't seem to have a use for me.
But I still love em and I can't cuss em
I just have to be more careful where I lay.
Yeah I still chase em, can't erase em
But if I could I'd be much better off that way.

And I'm a sucker for a pretty blond
I'm a sucker for the darkest skin
It don't matter much about that stuff
As long as they let me in.

Cause I love em all night long
And I write em another song
They keep stringing me along
But I can't blame em
I can't blame em and I can't cuss em
I just have to be more careful where I lay.
Yeah I still chase em, can't erase em
But if I could I'd be much better off that way.

--Stephen Martin, 12/7/19

To streamline this challenge I will be linking to day one for the details. This is a cross promotion of the Steemit and Cent platforms. Visit me on Steemit. Visit me on Cent.

Day 1

In a nutshell, post your poetry below for consideration in my monthly, online, blockchain, poetry journal.

What's your 365?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43