Emerging (17)

in #poetry6 years ago

dead-fish-1082283__480.jpg
Source

Emerging
By Stephen Martin

(17)

I found killing–
First a fish,
Then a deer;
An elk, an antelope,
Another deer.

The long rifle–
An extension of my arm
My heart.

I was killing my heart.

When I found out about
The hard truth of life
Leaving the eyes
Of the animals
I pierced
With
Guns,
I felt anger for the lie–
Passed down as a white,
Montana,
Bar Mitzvah.


I am a student of and ambassador for #steemschools.

Learn about our mission Here.
Join us on Discord.

@dobartim thank you for creating #steemschool. @d-pend thank you for the initial invite. Thank you to everyone else in our community. We can manifest dreams together.

I am a member of PoetsUnited. A community devoted to poetry. Join us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54337.36
ETH 2271.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32