Emerging (15)

in #poetry6 years ago

op-103061__480.jpg
Source

Emerging
By Stephen Martin

(15)

The scar was so big–
I thought I wanted to be a doctor,
I was wrong.
My stomach turned
When you came home.

Dialysis,
A new word for me,
Kidneys,
Understanding incomplete,
But complete.

Disconnect–
Distance of emotion,
Pushing away,
Finding things not of death,
On my bicycle,
A mountain bike,
The mountains breathed fire,
And I arrived.


I am a student of and ambassador for #steemschools.

Learn about our mission Here.
Join us on Discord.

@dobartim thank you for creating #steemschool. @d-pend thank you for the initial invite. Thank you to everyone else in our community. We can manifest dreams together.

I am a member of PoetsUnited. A community devoted to poetry. Join us.

Sort:  

I really liked the dichotomy of incomplete yet complete understanding. I like how it kind of played out into the poem. Sometimes, we find ourselves only when emerging from the fires of life. Nice write.

That word 'complete' stands out strongly in my own reading as well. I was wondering if it stands for 'an end - or a finish' as well as if it was meant to run into the next stanza

..complete - disconnect'

because what follows seems to be a sort of necessary disconnect (in my interpretation) so that the rest of the speaker may continue to emerge.

All in all, as challenging, taxing, disturbing even, as one expects from Stephen's poetry.

Thank you. Often children don't grasp the specifics, but the implications translate perfectly.

Thank you. I appreciate your deep reading.

Nicely done.
Spare, yet an excellent build up of emotions, and the final release - great poem. Thanks for posting this.

No problem. Thanks for reading. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82