SteemitPoetryContest #16 - Run Wild

in #poetry6 years ago

Imagination.jpg

A pink planet, that spins like a washing machine,
Waterfalls flowing back and right up a ravine,
Impossible feats carried out as we dream,
Our thoughts come to life like a consciousness stream.

These things we can see as the synapses zap,
And like flies they are caught in our mind - it's a trap,
We allowed it to flourish when young as a child,
But now as an adult we wont let it run wild.

So close up those eyes and remember you're free,
let your mind be the pilot and your heart fill with glee,
It can bring you to Mars, to Hawaii or Naples,
Just remember like food, the mind needs its staples.
Divider.png
This is the first poem I have ever written, I hope you like it. Well as an adult anyway, I probably wrote some as a child. Steemit has gotten me back into writing short stories, something I loved to do in English class up until the age of 17. I then started Uni and studied to be a Telecoms Engineer. That was the last of the writing, until 3 weeks ago when I joined Steemit. I now enjoy taking part in #freewrite and #fiftywords, and decided this evening, why not try my hand at a poem. I'd love to know what you think, so please comment, even if it is criticism. Thanks a million.

And of course thanks to @terrycraft for running the competition.

[Image Source] (https://pixabay.com/en/castle-cloud-moon-sky-fantasy-2115425/)

Sort:  

I enjoyed your poem very much!! I can't wait to start reading some of your fiction here.

Thanks so much @beemillz I'm delighted you liked it :o)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ablaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79