IN MY PRIME

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

When I was in my prime
I held my head high and stamped the grounds proudly
Whatever I wanted I beckoned and I protested loudly
No rule was hard to break
I gave none but mine was to take
image
image source
When I was in my prime
The old men warned it was all a phase
But I couldn't get a enough once I had a taste
Never knew It would pass in a haste
Never even knew all that energy would come to waste

When I was in my prime
I became like a train with no brakes
Thinking life was just a piece of cake
Now I am so old and my bones are weak
And I just sit by and watch the clock tick
image
image source
Now I am old and my bones are weak
Now I hear my voice tremble as I speak
Now I have just memories
Now I watch the passers-by trespass on my territory

Now I tell stories of how it had all been in my time
when I remember how I had felt being in my prime

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52