Horizons (a poem)

in #poetry8 years ago

Horizons

Where are we heading tonight?
Can you see that horizon up ahead,
it’s going to absorb us


like it did the sun,
moments ago,
when you weren’t looking.


I’ve found new ways to say
I love you,

but these are foreign words
on your ears,
Or am I just talking in my head?

Again.


But waves have felt more freely,
the surfaces of divinity,
than the coolness you wear so easily.


I’m like a dove,
but you’ll never feel the brush of my soft feathers

and only be struck with a chilled wind
from my wings.

When I take flight.


Come to the cauldron with me to drink
this mysterious colour leaking from the stars.
Maybe open your eyes


for a while
to see if you can come alive.


We are all about to go swimming in freezing water
to clarify our bodies
and jump start serenity.


Let the angels direct these contrails,
to the doorstep of virility.


And I’m emptying sand bags,
anticipating the drought will last till next December.

Cherish my thought until day breaks,
and we find ourselves washed up,

but not washed clean.


I’ve put my hands out as a message.

I’ll fill the space between
you and I.

If only to extend the chorus
until snow stops crystallizing on our eyelids.


~~~
copyright john oliver westbrook (@abarefootpoet)
image credit (labeled for reuse)

Sort:  

It's always nice to see original creativity!

Awesome stuff! You always post such powerful pieces. Poems are meant to evoke emotions, and yours certainly deliver on that. Keep 'em coming, the Steemit community needs more of these!

thank you so much!! that really feels good to hear.

Fantastic poetry.

thank you 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53