Poetic-surge Poetry Contest #1 (Tohu-Bohu, A Writer's Pain)

in #poetic-surgecontest6 years ago (edited)

Love in the air,
I hold my breath.
The room lay bare,
Mind of mine full like death.

Sitting on the shelf,
A quill and ink while I pray.
Write not to please self,
The bills to be paid.

My year to make a dime,
Wallet a void a vacuum.
One more line to make a rhyme,
But my head a black gloom.

What seekest thee from me?
Thou bloodthirsty fans.
Dip the quill in my blood,
But you still sink in the fangs.

My hand numb,
Heart in a rage spin.
Another beautiful dumb,
Damnit, again to the garbage bin.

IMG_20180123_113144.jpg
Image Credit

Sort:  

I think this needs some special awards,,,,, this is awesome,,, good use of sacarsm and irony,,,,,, gudos brother

This coming from you go the poetry section is a big encouragement to me. Thanks

Reading another of your works again, not disappointed. And I totally agree with @tony-duke, this truly deserves an award.
You're good. Wishing you all the best @lordjames

This is really good bro... you re growing higher everyday

This was may favourite part -

Sitting on the shelf,
A quill and ink while I pray.
Write not to please self,
The bills to be paid.

-It flows like a song :)

I wish I knew how to write 'em songs. But I'll settle with poetry. Maybe someday you will come turn my poems to lyrics

Nice piece of work

Congratulations @lordjames! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hay Jimmy Jam you made me smile, in a good way! These are quite some lines!

Glad you stopped at my blog today. You don't know what this means to me.

Amazing and surprising...love the line But you still sink in the fangs and the transition...brilliant!

Am grateful you enjoyed my work. This encourage me to do more.

This post received a 4.200 SBD (45.40%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @lordjames! For more information, check out my profile!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95