Poetic-SurgePoetryContest#1 (Emptiness)

in #poetic-surgecontest7 years ago (edited)

This poem narrates the ordeals of a lonely writer who pours out his emotions into his craft. It shows how deep loneliness and emptiness can be, it digs down into the soul.
image
Photo Source : Pixabay

I wallow in my wails
Yet my voice cracks like broken walls
Gently falling apart from it's root
A hollow whirls in me
A pit where my lonely being sleeps
Where my mind travels in search of solace

Here flashes of memories elope
Leaving my mind drained and bare
Only wrapped in the sound of my groans
That pierces through the cage of my heart
I am seen between the lines of my poem
On the lips of my shrinking pen
Unveiling the scars of my vacuous soul

Still I sojourn through this abyss
Tell my tales to the moon shining over the dark clouds
Swallow the hollow in me and vomit it as words
For in my heart are set of lonely tunes
That echoes loud in the dark where I survive
Where I'm slowly becoming the emptiness in me

Sort:  

Of the whole piece these three lines stood out to me they are exquisite >

I am seen between the lines of my poem
On the lips of my shrinking pen
Unveiling the scars of my vacuous soul

Thanks a lot for reading
I'll do well to check out your blog

Thank you :)

You took the words right outta my mouth.

Favorite line:
I am seen between the lips of my poem.

Very good work. I wish you luck.

This is a stroke of genius. 👏

This is a master piece,,,, very nice diction used,,,,, i hope to see you around, the results will be announced today and the next contest ( the best poem appreciation) will kick off,, bye

Thank you for stopping by to read it
I got inspired by the referral poem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62300.84
ETH 2421.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56