Poetic-surge Poetry Contest #1 (You would remember)


You stare at me still, as in our youth,

as from those places we once knew,
yet unlike then, is hidden the spark,
of memory, of passion to know,
to acknowledge us, to notice me.

Swoosh, the slate is wiped clean!
A mind once beautiful, and still,
Once apt and remembering, dates,
fond places, people and things,
Now dusted, emptied, O’ Alzheimer!

But in me lives those memories still
In your heart, you would remember!
i know, and so I will say in my sleep,
as in every day, i will recite and tell,
I will relive, I will remember that time.

of emotions young and free to indulge,
then did fresh passions ooze from us,
and the heart’s wells never once dried,
the dap-dub of pumping valves,
were like locomotives, like music.

Never then, were any moments to rue,
but in moments did we chart a lifetime,
of higher hopes, and dreams to live out,
of places we’d visit, the home we’d build,
and kids, they’d look like you, we wished,

then fire coursed through our raw veins,
swelling our hearts, it was always rush hour,
then, our ears heard, knew when we called,
and the tongue in verses said sweeter things,
the hands in trembling knew where to touch.

What couldn’t we both have given then, to be?
Where couldn’t we have gone then, to belong?
Who weren’t we ready to lose then, to become?
We vowed to grow old together; and we have,
Your memory is now gone, emptied and lost,

But I don’t care, you kept your vow,
Grey head and frail, but still here,
Staring at me in the blankness, in the emptiness,
Struggling to fill in the blanks, to defy the doctor,
Struggling to return to me, to us, to home.


Sort:  

Wow, this is beautifully sad... I feel so much for the person who's view you described
I think the Poetic-surge is a good ideas, I've participated, too.
Hope you are well and have a great weekend :)

What a story,,, that longing passion to be back home,,, to be back to your comfort zone,,,, this is beautiful,,,,keep it up as you improve your skills... i hope to see you around ,,, the winners will be announced today then the next contest (the best poem appreciation) will kick off after that.

Her man has lost memory ..cue- O’ Alzheimer!
She tells of his emptiness now, and here in her own memory, tells of what/how her now old husband would remember their happier days, when memory was full, not emptied, lost

bro you are doing wonders with your writing
keep it up.

i am encouraged by you

I am glad @mrposyble for your kind words. I have to say you have a genuine passion and show genuine interest in my works, and generally all quality works of others at steemit. It is a very good attitude, i can only tell you that will finally make it up here. I hope i shall someday, soon be of more help, more support to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58111.37
ETH 2571.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47