A Poem For My Father

in #poerty8 years ago (edited)

This is a poem I wrote a while ago for my dad who passed away last year. The only people who have read this poem are my children as I did not want to share it with anyone.
I have decided to put it on Steemit so that it has a permanent home on the block chain in case it is ever destroyed or my laptop breaks.

My dad was 78 years old when he died. He was married to my mum for almost 60 years and together they had 9 children, 17 grandchildren and 21 great-grandchildren. He very was very well loved, and to me, he was the one man in my life who was always there when I needed him.

He always was and always will be my hero.

Gerard Reid

My Dad

When I was young, I thought you were God,
But soon I realised, I was a silly wee sod,
For God you were not, No not at all,
You were much more than that, You were my on and all,
My daddy, my hero, the one man mattered,
Without you around, my whole world I shattered,
God gained someone special, when he took you away,
Left broken hearts all around, on that very sad day,
What's life going to be like, with you no longer here,
My heart's full of pain, my head full of fear,
I know you are gone, I'm not ready to let go,
But life won't stand still, so I need you to know,
The love I have for you, will never ever die,
It's in every tear, that flows from eye,
In all that I see, and all that I do,
No one can take away, what I feel for you.

I love and miss you, Da. X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66917.83
ETH 3499.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89