IS POETRY NOT ...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poems7 years ago

IMG_20170804_091510_611.jpg
Is poetry not wonderful?

The blind see with it
The lame walk with it
The dumb speak with it
The young grow with it
The old hold on with it
The sad smile with it
The happy dance with it
The pale is brightened by it
The lost is won by it
The saved is kept by it
But many wander with it

Still is poetry not beautiful?

For its stages I am forever grateful
It can be spoken with no music
It can be spoken with some good music
It can be sung too with no music
It can be sung too with some good music
And the highest of all
It can be rendered with no lyrics but music
Yes it can!

Is poetry not beautiful?

I correct with it
I'm corrected by it
I teach with it
I'm taught by it
I instruct with it
I'm instructed by it
I entertain with it
I'm entertained by it

Is poetry not beautiful?

I admire its beauty on the lips of bards
The sway of their hips
The motion in their eyes
The opening of their dawning smile
And the sacrifice of the blood of their pen

Is poetry not beautiful?

The poor speak with it
The oppressed wail with it
The deprived emote with it
The destitute mime with it
...

Is poetry not beautiful?

(Comment, telling us what makes poetry beautiful to you).
PicsArt_06-21-01.42.19.png

Sort:  

What makes poetry beautiful to me is the imagination that forms in my mind as I hear or read poetry. @ironshield

This post has received a 1.11 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @prechi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43