Personal Poetry

in #poems4 years ago (edited)

This is slightly nerve-racking for me. But as mentioned in a previous post, it's time to get over my fear of the unknown. Recently I've been attempting to write poetry - emphasis on "attempting" - this is a poem dump post :)

Your Biggest Lie

Everything was fine
Until you started talking
Whispering sweet things into my ear
Saying you loved me,
But that was untrue
You only loved the parts suited for you

The Art In You

They told me
"Express yourself"
So I did
With pens and pencils,
Paper and paint

No matter what I done
It was simply too sad or not good enough for them

I stood there
In-front of a blank canvas

How could my expression of me be wrong?

Lists

Things to try
Things to buy
Maybe I should learn to fly
What happens if i die?
Make a list of all my thoughts
Jot it all down
Write it all up
But in the end,
The problem is,
Loose lists get scrumpled up

Crazy

How we don't appreciate what we have until it's gone
Like when I burn my taste buds
Everything tastes like dirt
And when I'm in your arms
I don't appreciate your warmth
Until I'm in the freezing cold,
Where I cannot feel my toes

Identity

At school we drew mind maps
Our names in the middle of the page
Writing down all our hobbies
But now,
Now we're taking pictures of our bodies
To hide our insecurities
Denying our vulnerabilities
Everything on that mind map has changed

Tired Gibberish

Struggling to write
My lips feel so tight
I wonder what it's like
Achieving everything that's nice
Pen to paper
Your lips on my skin
The ticking brain stops
How do I mind map, when I have no starting point
How do I write my story, when I'm too tired to live it
Blood and betrayal are good to read
White knights on their steeds
Dying rivers,
Side by side
Too weak and tired to talk
No more the young and brave, dancing in the snow

Sort:  

Congratulations @miss-leigh! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This is so cool! Thank you :)

You're welcome @miss-leigh. Glad you like it.
BTW, feel free to support us back: vote for our witness.
You will get one more badge and more powerful upvotes from us on your posts with your next notifications.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63793.25
ETH 3410.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59