Hi I’m KaliKat – Welcome to my life in poems - 5

in #poems8 years ago

No more fluffy stuff

This poem was written around 1992 – My first marriage lasted around 25 years and knowing what I know now should probably have ended just after my second child was born.

I think it lasted as long as it did for one, because I was trying to prove my mother wrong – she’d told me on my wedding day that I was making the biggest mistake of my life, I had no idea how right she actually was.

Secondly, I was lead to believe that would never make it on my own with 2 children…
Had I have had the strength, courage and confidence to leave him early on, I’m sure mine and my children’ lives would have taken very different paths – we actually did much better without him.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing…

I very much believe the challenges we face are what makes us who we are – I just wish I could have got here in a less traumatic way especially for my children.

The person I married in the early 80’s turned out to be manipulative, deceitful… oh I could go on but he’s not worth the time it takes to type the words… let’s just say he was a monster and be done with it.

I am about to unleash a series of poems that are insightful, funny, sad, controversial, dark and last but not least honest. They are fragments of my life…

Generally when things go terribly wrong it starts out with….

Little Problems

We have a little problem in our house you’re soon to see
That problems with a wife, I know because it's me
My husband well he works all day, be it one job or the other
His family hardly see him but what the hell, they have, a mother
Now this mother she's no good, the kids just run a muck
And when it comes to having sex, well this mother she don't _uck
Then there's the little question of no money in the bank
Well here's a simple answer, it’s his wife you've got to thank
The kids don't need their daddy all the time (or so he thinks)
She knows he doesn't love her, feelings change she's on the brink
Now that he has taken all the love she had to give
There's only one solution - just find somewhere else to live

This poem was the beginning of the end – I didn’t find somewhere else to live because I was told I would never make it on my own – and I believed him... sometimes we are our own worst enemy…

Hope you can join me tomorrow for another poem in the life of KaliKat.

Cheers
KaliKat

Sort:  

Hi, thank for your post! And good luck))

Thanks.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66779.99
ETH 3503.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70