Hi I’m KaliKat – Welcome to my life in poems - 10

in #poems8 years ago

The Dark Side…

After finding out about my daughters’ abuse I entered an abyss of darkness, I found it almost impossible to function, I couldn’t eat, I didn’t sleep, I would hardly speak…

The only thing I managed to do was to fight for justice for my daughter, if nothing else he would be held accountable for his actions, I was fully committed to ensuring this happened, one way or the other…

This consumed every part of me and I didn’t realise till many years later just how lost I had become.

Twisted.

Take a walk, explore my mind
Twisted scenes of every kind
Listen closely if you dare
You'll hear the angels crying there
The witches cast their evil spell
A Gypsy now your fate foretells
No place to hide is what they said
As Demon plagues invade your head
The clouds roll round a blackened sky
An eerie silence passes by
Darkness creeps along the ground
It fills your head with-out a sound
It takes your soul, it twists your mind
It steals your heart, it makes you blind
A blackened hole an evil lair
An entity of dark despair
Take a walk, explore my mind
See the places that I find
When clouds roll round a blackened sky
The Demons play and the Angels cry

My daughter was given a choice – their upbringing was made up of choices so this was not a new concept for her – either the law dealt with him, or I did.

She understood what that meant, and knew if I dealt with him there was every likelihood that I would be the one going to prison – she chose for the law to deal with him…

At 14 years old she gave her statement to police and 18 long months later, just after her 16th birthday, he was convicted on a number of charges, including multiple counts of rape and incest.

He was sentenced to 6 years in prison, he was released after 4.

4 years for stealing my daughters childhood, 4 years for changing who she would become, 4 years for making a 6 year old child believe what was happening to her on a weekly basis was normal, he told her all daddies did it...

My daughter went through this for 6 years… and he got 4…

It didn’t seem fair at the time, it still doesn’t seem fair, but at least it was something…

More of the dark side next time..

Cheers
KaliKat

Sort:  

Congratulations @kalikat! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kalikat! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66794.56
ETH 3501.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71