Hi I’m KaliKat – Welcome to my life in poems

in #poems8 years ago

My Son - One of my most treasured life challenges

This poem was written in 1991 for my son who continually presented me with the challenges I learned loved so much – My son was not like other children, he needed nobody, not even me.

He knew from a very young age what he wanted from life and he never settled for anything less than the best he could be.

He taught me many things as he was growing up, patience, tolerance, but mostly he taught me if you put your mind to something and believe in yourself, you can achieve anything.

I love him dearly and am extremely proud of the man he has become.

My First Born and My Teacher

It starts with the birth of one little boy,
Sent to me from somewhere to fill me with joy.
With the face of an angel, unable to sin,
I knew just by looking there's a devil within.
My son made it known, right from the word go,
That he'll fight for the things that he thinks that he knows.
He'll argue the point 'till he's blue in the face,
And don't look his way if he loses that race.
His temper flares up at the drop of a hat,
You’d have to be crazy to hang around that.
But there's a side to him that is rarely seen
He is loving and caring and very serene.
He’ll check on you constantly if you’re not well,
And if money gets tight, he'll find something to sell.
He can love you and hate you ten times a day,
When your boy says he hates you, what can you say?
He's an image to look at but a struggle to hold,
And just looking after him makes you grow old.
But he's my little boy and whatever his ways,
I'll stand by him and love him for the rest of my days

My son is now a grown man and I am still in awe of things he has achieved – I’m so very proud of him.

Hope you can join me tomorrow for another poem in the life of KaliKat.

I promise we’ll get into some life stuff after my next poem – thought it best to ease into it.. :)
Cheers
KaliKat

Sort:  

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.4 and reading ease of 93%. This puts the writing level on par with Stephen King and Dan Brown.

yay.. getting better.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66779.99
ETH 3503.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70