Leaving Everything Behind

in #poems7 years ago

C50D7A21-5FB0-4759-8DBB-53A7CB8E7FF9.jpeg

I see red fire and dust scatter
As the leaves of my life
Fall away

My belongings leave my hometown
One bag or box followed by another
Like a procession of gears
Tumbling off the chain that once
Was my sanctuary.

The links catch and hinder my momentum
The world as I knew it fades
Into the background
Now a stale and bitter sensation

My lover,
To his limbs I did grasp
Bends but never breaks
Now, with each mile, collecting
The ends of our broken promises

Everything I held close to my heart
Shrinks away in the side mirrors
Driving away, a wobbling motion of white and rust
With successive pushing of the peddle
The need to cycle forward

Straining, Aching
I catch my breath with smoke
Filled lungs
Leaving, leaning out into the sun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57174.31
ETH 3071.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40