You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Path of Exile: Died at Level 38 to Kaom in Act 4 :(

in #poemcomp5 years ago

I ended up dead also. My three Templars got L2, L8, and L36 (killed by Dominus)
My Duelist was only L16.

As for the Einhar stuff, consider yourself unlucky. I only had 2 zones with hunts in them. Both for 5 creatures. nearly died to a triple yellow battle in one of them

Sort:  

As I said in my post, I was pretty accepting of death when it came to him. I'd actually wasted a lot of time delaying going into his arena I was so scared! But this time I did make sure I had well over 800 hp, I had mid 700s last few times. But I honestly think the spells did it. There was a lot of talk that GGG had buffed all the handcasting spells and that Purifying Flame felt really good to use. I think that and the added totem made an enormous difference in my survivability. And it was @nvisible that got me onto the idea of using another way to trigger an attack when he showed me how he killed Dominus with lightning traps. So when I got to the final stage of Dominus, I'd literally sat on top of good ol' Dom and found I don't get hurt so badly by him. I get the opportunity to hit him with a lot of dps. So with the extra totem also on him and firing chaos damage, that seemed to do the trick. I think defeating Dominus has me so keyed up about Hardcore, I need a rest from the format.

And yeah, I felt very unlucky with Einhar. Each time I went into a new zone I dreaded he'd appear. I did notice they seemed to make the beasts more aggressive this league with double-teaming sometimes, I never got a triple! That would be horrible in hardcore. All the softcore guys I was hanging with seemed "Meh" about the beast hunts, but that is because they are not playing hardcore! If they are around and you don't pay attention to them, you will get killed! At different points, I had them jumping all over my Witch! And what is with that stupid giant bird flying overhead and shitting all over you with crap! I think it was related to one of the beasts, but I cannot be sure. And how about the massive team of phantom dogs that streamed across the screen damaging you with another beast. It was crazy stuff!

In any case, you're also a gracious victor to me (even if you didn't get onto the podium). It's more how you've approached the contest and the game in general. You might not realize it, but you've really helped me with your company on discord throughout this PoE journey. Just you being honest about how difficult Dominus can be for you helped me not feel too bad he is so problematic to me. <3 I remain quite scared of him, as I am now of Kaom! It seems with each boss you encounter in Hardcore, it's another arduous lesson to learn.

Thanks so much for the kind words linny. I'm always as honest as I can be, as anything else gets you into trouble (and I get into enough of that without adding to it!)

The difference between softcore and hardcore attitudes is always interesting, but I've always played softcore with a desire to not die anyway, so it's never been fun getting jumped by a beastie. Especially not when you find the red one first, as you don't have Einhar there demolishing everything else around it!

Yeah, the giant bird much like the phantom dogs is just a special attack that one of the red beasts has. And those attacks suck so much more than just the heavy hitting red beast types

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88