Lassitude

in #poem6 years ago

Oftentimes the expenditure of physical and mental energy will leave you depleted even, and especially, after accomplishing something worthwhile and beneficial. After those endeavors a person (me) just needs to unplug for awhile and recoup.

Lassitude

Like a stream of slow
Moving water
A trickle...
The small subtle
Undulations
Of mental inertia
Descends

At first
Slightly undetectable
Like a light wind
Caressing drapes
Or a lover after
Intimacy, seducing me

There is no desire
Other than to sleep
To shed this mind
Of today's events

Suddenly,
I fight to
Awaken this sluggish
Consciousness
Like a shot of
Adrenaline, I stir

Looking though
Half-lidded eyes
I rise
Only to rollover

In the end
Fatigue defeats me as
I reluctantly succumb
To this enticing weariness
Here I will lie, at least,
For a little while

Yrret El ©️5BE94ABE-C77F-4013-8ABB-205ABB9B89DE.jpeg

Sort:  

Splendid wrte, yrretel. Do I know your pen from somewhere else? Maybe Writer's Cafe?

Hi Pryde and thank you. Yes I follow you on Twitter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71