who

in #poem7 years ago (edited)

.
who was that person
so dangerously
so miserably
and ignorantly guiltless

I can no longer imagine him
can never hold him
in my memory

my past self
an idea I can't put a life to
thin trails of existence
I can no longer trace

except in wisps
whiffs
smells and tastes
and I’m back
for moments
dropping into and out of
a disconnected
bubble of time

and now
so intimately
I feel our wounds

and I want to know why
want to revisit
the actor of those times

but he's conveniently
and elementally
unavailable

as if that person

was never me

no causes
or understanding
from an earlier me
or time

how can I understand
so clearly now

know and accept my failures
and successes

and have no sentient
serial link
back

except for
my creations
art
game designs
and other ideas
still alive
in me
my notebooks
prototypes
and past read
and unread books
mostly in boxes

which might remind me
of ideas pursued
feelings felt
and ideas thought

with some already remembered
repurchased as electrons
or redrawn rewritten from memory
reinvented

but as for who I was
who I have been

no past intelligence
by simple recall

except for warnings
distrust
and splintered love
the slowly roiling
substance of my awareness

ragged fog of memory
without a plot

and day after day
only helpless relentless becoming
ever dawning awareness
constant learning

mocking what I needed to know
and didn't

.
.
.
.

August 10 Thomaston Maine
edited August 16 & 17
.
.
.
© 2017 William C. Eberle

Sort:  

Uncle Bill! Welcome to Steemit! So glad to see you here. :)

I hope you do some posts about Cosmic Encounter. :)

Thanks, Luke. I will. I thought I'd start with some poetry. And would like to write a series about game design in general with thoughts about what specific design ideas, like the variable player powers in Cosmic Encounter, offer future game designers.

Very cool. :)

Steemit is an interesting place. I've been here for over a year and a half commenting on other people's posts, adding value where I can, and building relationships. When you're just starting out, it's like tweeting to no followers. No one will see what you're up to unless you connect and build relationships. I did a post recently which you may find helpful if you want to connect more with others here: #SteemitIsToMe: Relationships, Reputation, and Rewards.

Either way, it's cool to think your poems will now live on the blockchain forever. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48