One Way Call (Poker Poem)

in #poem7 years ago (edited)

You told me to go, so I did. We thought we both had lives to live 

We broke our home, now we’re all alone. I pray you take this call an forgive


Just don’t… don’t do it again. Please you’re rambling 

I’ve told you I can’t compete against your gambling 

The risks are too high, living my whole life in jeopardy 

I’ve thrown in my cards, you took my ante, but not what’s left of me. 

Not the best of me… do you remember what happened last time? 

Gone, No Call? All our money on the line. Lost it all, and almost your life and mine.    

-

Pocket Jacks with a Jack, 10, 4 on the flop 

He raises then I pause, before I put more on the top 

Odds increase more when six drops 

Check, Raise, Call one more and it pays a lot 

Then the Queen pulls up to the river’s dock 

This is what changes the plot. Who’d have thought? 

The queen would be the one to connect the dots 

Raised the limit of the pot… Fold, make the bleeding stop…  

My trips won’t work against the strait he’s got.   


Ring, ring, ring, ring…..   


“HAHAHA, is that your banker calling asking where all your money is going?” 

No Sal, it was my wife. “HAHA Worse right! You’re here and your wife not knowing." 

That’s almost as bad as these cards I’m showing…   


The gangster lays down an ace and a three, he shouldn’t of beat me 

I gave him the hand, 50 grand, and every last ounce of dignity   


Ring, ring, ring, ring…..  


Honey I know you’re there. Pick up. I’ve found a stroke of luck 

I miss you bad, the thing we had, moving on with hope unstuck 

Please answer my call… Please pick up!   


Ring, ring, ring, ring…..   


2 years strait, working and saving it all, Trucks with things to haul. 

Learning to walk from relearning to crawl. 

NOW… To get “her” back, there’s only one way… Call!   


Ring, ring, ring, ring….. "HAHAHA I’m surprised you learned how to call!”      



I hope you enjoyed my story poem. I would really love any feedback. Positive or negative. Thank you!        

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66735.55
ETH 3509.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71