MASTERMIND

in #poem7 years ago


11/11/11, 9:45am. This moment will forever go down in history as the day I hit a milestone. Stepping on the soil of the renowned medical school would ambiguously be a feather to my cap and the ease with which I slithered in was a pointer to my flawless academic record.

Coming from a line of academicians, i was a natural when it came to incessantly burying my optical nerves in black and white for as much time as would spell eternity. Over time, just like respiration it became a by product of my very existence and yes, smart I was but my other half was a typical example of naievity because smart at books isn't always a certainty for excellence at handling issue that the real world provided.

As my parents stocked my bags with as much medicine as was enough for my entire existence, I wondered if the ground was a mine field that i needed that much protection. In my real world, all i would have needed was a pair of headsets and I'm good to go.

This is the biggest moment of our lives they kept on saying. The word "our" resonated in my ear drums, this adventure had everything to do with me and and I wasn't part of the reaction; except I was the catalyst, neither was I part of the board that decided my fate.

Obviously they both had the deciding votes and i guess as a minor I wasnt qualified to sit on the board in the first place.
I was very happy and concerned simultanously. Happy for me and concerned for them.

As my moment of freedom approached, I was less at par with my environment because i was lost in my own world busy creating rhetorics to fit into the ryhthm of jeremy camp's beat blasting out through the opening between the foam and my ears.

My face was ruffled the whole time, it was camouflaged to simply show my disapproval to this adventure but behind the scene, the movie to be played was a different one and all I needed was to leave this abode as plans were already in place to rebel against this fake life I was about to be forced into.

And for the first time in my life, I walked through the front door to pursue my real life. And as we stepped out on the lawn, I looked up to my window and smiled knowing I'll be forever grateful for the friendship we both shared.

Those nights of study finally paid out. My being an academic guru wasn't an end in itself, it was a means to an end. It was my WAY OUT into my real life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03