[Poem] You can’t force me to respect you

in #poem7 years ago

You can’t force me to respect you!

Don’t tell me it’s because
Your age,
or race,
or gender,
or religion,
or nation,
or what ever else you think,
That I should respect you.

My respect, is a currency.
It’s a resource so thin,
that I can’t use is on
Every random person,
that demands it.

Respect is earned.
Not demanded.
Respect is earned,
By actions and achievements,
Not demanded by the simple
existence of a person.
Respect is given.
And you can’t force me to respect you.

Image source:Pixabay

The inspiration of this poem was dr. Jordan B. Peterson and his debate with a student over respect and gender. You can see the video below:

Sort:  

true sstefan.It is earned not demanded

wonderful poem

This way of thinking has gotten me in trouble my whole life. Lol.

I think it's better to get in trouble than pretend all the time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51