Alesia

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

So I'm pretty excited to share some of my poems that were nominated to be published this upcoming year. They all tie in to a large scale fantasy book I am writing. I plan to share a bunch of the poems and excerpts of the chapters I am writing, to build up feedback and hopefully inspire others. All while learning during the quest. Let's see where this journey goes!

Alesia

I still recount the day,
The day this world gave way to waste,
And the leaves from the great redwood fell from grace…

(((one year prior)))

Life is said to be given with boundless precision.
With no surefire path of navigation,
An unperceivable perception.

For every soul the great vine giveth,
A billion more lay silently asleep,
To drift alone through sands of the void.

I still count my blessings, and remember that
One of the select few sparks of life,
Was mine to hold, and love, for a brief moment in time…

A moment in the abysmal grand scheme…
An epoch in the light of your eyes…
The obligatory eternity, while you lay ‘sleep…

When I awoke, you were running through fields,
Fields as luscious as the hair you now bore.
With a smile that could bend the outreached wheat grasping at the sun.

Ten cycles had come and gone,
So young, yet there you were,
Reading beneath the great redwood.

And as all eclipses fade,
The moment passed far too soon.
The day the wheel of time stood still.

I stand before the great redwood awaiting your fruitless return.
While the night’s sky weeps tears upon my face,
And the redwood’s leaves fall from the unbearable weight.

I still recount the day,
The day this world gave way to waste,
And the leaves from that great redwood fell from grace…

©2017 Steve Deltanis All rights reserved

Sort:  

Great job. I really like it. Very strong and touching.

Very touching, was this your daughter?

Thank you, alas, she is the daughter of one of my characters in the book I am writing=)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37