New here . . . Just learning the ropes

in #poem7 years ago (edited)

Me . . .

I am not a poet.
I want to be rich and buy things for my family.
Besides, I am sort of popular and can honestly say I’ve had a great sex life.
I am not a poet.
I do not feel oppressed or depressed and no longer have anything to say about the President.
I am not a poet.
I do not like being called an "activist" because it takes away from those that are out on the streets protesting and fighting for our rights.
I am not a poet.
I eat poultry and fish and eat way too much meat to be considered a vegetarian.
I am not a poet.
I may value peace but I will not simply use a pen to unleash my anger.
I could mess somebody up if I had to.
I am not a poet.
I may have been abused verbally and had a difficult life but I don’t want pity.
I believe laughter and love heals.
I am not a poet.
I don’t spend my weekends reading and writing.
I like to go out and party.
I like to have a few cocktails but I do not have a drinking problem , matter of fact i rarely drink
I am not a poet.
I prefer the great Mary Jane to open up my imagination.
I am not a poet.
I can seriously only tolerate about half an hour of spoken word before I start tuning out and thinking about my grocery list or what my boyfriend is up to.
I am not a poet.
I am not a poet according to the scholars and academics and some guy named Harold Bloom that i googled.
I only write to masturbate my mind.
After all, fucking yourself is one of the great pleasures that solitude can afford you.
I am not a poet.
I am only trying to get attention and convince myself that poetry can save lives when my words simply and proudly contribute to whatevers going on in your so called life .
-S H Y A N N E-

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52