Storms at Sea (an original poem)

in #poem8 years ago (edited)

The dock can be so lonely
I sit with my reflection
Like a boat in shallow water
Against the tide's rejection
The moon shines clear
Out in this purple night
But the magic is all gone
Lost, without a fight

Our love had set us sailing
The wind had set us free
But was somehow blown off course
We sunk with the storms at sea

So many nights I cried inside
My world grew pale blue
I'd lost you like a sinking ship
In the changing tide we knew
And the nights we had together
Where magic things took place
Have sunken amid stormy weather
In a sea of empty space

We rode off, swiftly changing course
We steered the bow line straight
A gentle wind to guide us forth
But now it's all too late
I've lost you like Atlantis
Beneath the raging sea
The magic gone with you
Along with the heart you took from me

So I look out over this ocean
Waiting patiently in vain for your call
And form my own man-made ocean
As my thousand tear drops fall
Goodbye was never good enough
Our lives had much more days
Moving forward for infinity
Just like this ocean's waves

Sort:  

Great work.. I loved it.. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57500.86
ETH 2337.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36