Lucy and Me

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

dog.jpeg


Lucy and Me


Once upon a rainy day

I strolled across the park

In the distance, I saw a stray

And heard his delicate bark


His lead was tied around a swing

It was tattered and lost its thread

How could someone do such a thing?

He was starved and left for dead


I picked him up and held him tight

His frailty lumped my throat

He was cold and obviously full of fright

So I comforted him in my coat


We ran through the rain as fast as I could

And demanded to see the vet

She looked at us both covered in mud

She laughed and said, 'you're a bit wet'


'He was left for dead, please will you help?'

She nodded as she took him from me

She examined him and he let out a yelp

'This dog's not a he...he's a she'


She laughed and then she let out a sigh

As she stroked the dog's matted hair

She said she was lucky she did not die

And she was lucky that I found her there


'I will take her and look after her now

And give her the life that she needs

But you will have to help and show me how

With her care and all her feeds'


Three years have passed as of today

And Lucy, the stray, is alive and well

Sarah, the vet, became my wife in May


...Now wasn't that a story to tell?


My Website

My Uni Blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34