POEM: FACE

in #poem8 years ago

Sometimes facing fears is more subtle
Than learning a new skill

Requiring you to grab a tool
Wrap presence in a pill

Everything you are
Or at least the surface sum

Your mind body look
And what you've cared to put on

The tool {the mirror} tells more
Than reflections people see

Sharing the image means you're OK
With your humanity

In some ways you hide
Behind whitespace walls

Show yourself and radiance
Will bubble from your face

Expression is letting
Ships sail to new sands

To places where laughter is near
Where no gavel can land



I wrote this after watching the This is your moment video.

So many Steemians chose to include images of themselves in the project. I chose to leave myself out.

In thinking about facing fears for next year, I realized I need to be OK with who I was and how I look right now. Whether it be in a selfie or if I choose to do video poetry readings.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75