Cursed lovers - part 1: Why regret something we always wanted?

in #poem7 years ago (edited)

I'm not sure if it's your fault or that I just never could make up my mind about you.

I used to love you, or be addicted to you, I could never tell the deference.
I used to be familiar with your abusive ways and learnt to forget every time you came back calling my name.
I learnt to love the way it felt when you touched me knowing you were going to leave the next morning,
it felt as if I was getting something I never had, or the only thing I ever wanted.
You knew exactly how to play with me and I went along, not being able to resist you or my obsessive nature,
but then thankfully for me came the day that you crossed the line and I just couldn't go on being your plaything
and so I quit.

After a while it was as if I never knew you, you were never there.
I pretended not to see you whenever you passed by.
I pretended that you never truly touched my life or that I never really cared about you.
I pretended that you didn't changed who I was or who i was going to become.
But the truth was that I was just trembling upon hearing your voice even in my thoughts.
I knew that after you there was nothing left inside for me to be, you had stole every last part of me.
For a while I was just numb and empty.
And then came he...

He was everything at a time I was nothing.
He brought back things that you took.
He brought back me
and I loved him for that.
He made me truly forget and even forgive.
I had everything I wanted.
I loved as I never did before
and for the first time in my life I was being loved, deeply selflessly loved.

I knew I didn't deserve him or at least so I thought,
I might had forgotten about you and the pain you caused
but your impact on me was too strong to just fade away
I was still feeling as if I wasn't worthy of being loved,
as if I didn't deserve it, or that it was too much for me to bare.

I was so in love with the idea of his love that I was willingly blinded to what was to come.

And then one day it ended as all good things do.
I wept and sobbed until there was nothing left to mourn but my once again hollow self,
drought out of any emotion or will for life.
So I tried to forget once more and through myself into more meaningful things.
Friends, books, education and a smattering of others.

And there, in the blink of my despair, you..
At the beginning you were just a reminder of painful memories long forgotten,
but then you wouldn't go away, you kept coming back, cracking your way into my already untamed mind.
I knew I would never in my right mind go along to another self destroying ride with you,
I knew I wouldn't do that, but the thought wouldn't live my mind because I didn't know if I wanted to.
I wasn't the same as before and you seemed to have changed and have regretted for what you had done to me,
but still how could I ever trust you?

I ignored all my doubts and better judgement and just fell for the moment,
allowing you to open the door to our haunting past and get hold of me once more.
I willingly tied myself up so you could tear up my mind again.

The thing that scares me the most though is that I now know that I want you to.
I know that I want you back even if that means loosing myself in the process.

Have I lost my mind or is it our fate to be haunted by each other till we die?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 59515.78
ETH 2505.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47